Ohio TESOL Excellence in Teaching Award

Ohio TESOL Excellence in Teaching Award

This award is to honor an OHIO TESOL member who is considered by colleagues to be an excellent teacher. Click here to see past award winners.


The purpose of this award is to honor a teacher who is considered by his/her colleagues to be an excellent teacher.


An Ohio TESOL certificate and a three year membership in Ohio TESOL.


The nominee must be a member of Ohio TESOL and must have at least five years of experience in the ESL classroom. Current members of the Executive Board are not eligible.


The nominations will be reviewed by the Ohio TESOL Executive Board for evidence of the nominee’s:

  • Responsiveness to his/her teaching situation and students.
  • Ability to motivate and encourage students as well as engage them in productive and challenging learning.
  • Contributions to the school, community, and profession in a variety of ways
  • Continuing professional development.


The nominator must be an Ohio TESOL member who has direct knowledge of the nominee’s teaching experience and ability.

The nominator must write a letter of nomination stating why he or she feels that the nominee is worthy of the award and should be recognized on a state-wide basis for achieving excellence. The nominator should provide information that addresses the criteria listed above, and shows the nominee to be the kind of teacher who should be recognized for excellence. The nomination should include an endorsement by the nominee’s current supervisor.

Nominations for this award must include the names, addresses, telephone numbers, and/or e-mail addresses of the nominee and the nominator.


Nominations should be sent to the Awards Chairperson of Ohio TESOL. The Awards Chairperson shall bring the nominations to the fall Executive Board meeting for consideration. Selection will be made by the Executive Board and the results announced at the annual fall conference.

Nomination forms may be submitted online with this link http://goo.gl/forms/CJ02lTMZkx


The nomination must be received by September 15, 2017.


Leave a Reply